0.03 True Love

“A rose for you, my darling,” I said as I presented the beautiful flower to my even more beautiful mate. It had been nearly a year since we met. Nearly a year since I became the happiest man in the world. She had grown out her hair, and stopped dying it. She had confided in me that it make her look like her mother, and she used to hate it.

“You really love wooing me,” She commented, sniffing the rose. “I am so lucky.”

Not as lucky as me, I thought but I didn’t dare argue. Katrina and I were happy. I had never been more sure of anything than I was with her.

“I need to step up my wooing game,” She went on, a hand pressed to her chest as if to calm her beating heart.

“You don’t have to woo me, I already love you. More than you know,” I assured her, taking her hand and kissing the back of it. She giggled, as she always did. I felt just as in love as I had that first day. Now loving on my beautiful mate was just as easy as breathing. I had been a little awkward before, but it was so easy now.

One of the few changes for our home was a computer. I had always loved writing, since I was a teen anyway, and I figured I’d try my hand at writing some novels. Most of them were aimed at kids like I had been; surrounded by a family that you were very different than. I still kept my fisherman job, as I wasn’t confident enough to just live off my earnings as a writer, but I hoped someday soon I could.

Katrina, of course, supported me the entire way. I didn’t deserve my mate, she was too perfect for me. She picked up a part-time job babysitting for a family in town on weekends. The mother was a human and the father a werewolf, and she helped the mother navigate life with wolves in it. It was a wonderful feeling knowing we were helping people who were just like us. Hopefully they had better and easier lives than we did.

Before we knew it, it was time for the first snow of the year again. I couldn’t believe so much time had passed since I first came to this town. Back then, I hadn’t known for sure what I wanted or who I was, but now I knew. I had grown so much since then too… It really was crazy to think about.

Katrina had been talking a while about expanding the family. While we were outside watching the snow pile up, and hoping we could get out of the house tomorrow, she suddenly pointed out the bush. She joked that since it wasn’t covered in snow, it must be special. Then we were over by it, examining it. One thing led to another and well…

We both had a little fun in the bush.

It wasn’t our first time by a long shot. We hadn’t been exactly careful for a while now. I knew that Katrina was getting a little discouraged because she expected us to have a little on by now.

Well a few weeks later, she asked if I could stop writing for a moment.

“I just took a test!” She exclaimed. “I’m pregnant! We’re having a baby, Anthony!”

I could only stare at her for a moment, in complete shock. This was something we both wanted. We had already agreed we wanted a super big family. We wanted a lot of little wolves running around our feet. Now it was happening. Our first baby!

“Are you serious?” I asked her. She nodded, still grinning. I jumped from the computer chair and hugged my mate tightly. I couldn’t believe it! I couldn’t believe it! We were having a baby! At last! I don’t remember if my parents struggled, but I just hoped that this meant we were going to have an easier time.

“Hopefully once they’re born, we can give them a sibling right away,” She touched her belly, smiling, echoing my thoughts exactly.

“We should practice,” I joked. She gave me one of her shy smiles, and I just wanted to kiss her again and again. I loved this woman, so, so much.

At Katrina’s urging, I built some shelfing for the objects I kept coming across. She said they were artifacts that told the story of Moonwood Mill. I noticed that there seemed to be some etching on them, but hadn’t read it all yet. If anything, it would be something to pass down to my children.

She tried digging around the house like I had been, hoping to find a few pieces, but she never found anything. I don’t know what that means, to be honest. Maybe I just have a talent for finding things? Who knows. Katrina was really frustrated though, and I did my best to comfort her.

All she would say is, “You better find all the pieces. It’s really important, I think.”

“I will,” I promised, even though I was unsure myself.

I was out more now, often hunting down the pieces of pottery and the statues of wolves. I also was just… hunting. Raw meat was the only thing I craved, and I could tell that Katrina was thinking the same thing. She gave me a big kiss every time I brought some raw meat home. The pregnancy was rough on her and it was the least I could do.

She ate it almost faster than I could manage to hunt. Since it was winter, animals were rare and I had to go further and further to hunt. It wasn’t a problem, of course. I’d do anything for my mate.

“It’s too cold in here,” She reminded me. We had to wear our sweaters inside, but winter wasn’t far off from ending. By the time she gave birth, it’d be spring. I was trying to hold out for it, and prepare for next year. Our cabin was still rather small.

“I know, love. Do you want to cuddle in bed?”

“No.” I blamed her grumpiness on her pregnancy. It was pretty hard on her, and the frustration was clear to see on her face. She couldn’t do many things she was used to doing. It wasn’t surprising for people like us to be independent, so I tried to have patience.

The stress even caused her to transform. I could only feel bad for her, as she stormed out the door to do some of her own hunting. She was frustrated and uncomfortable. I tried to soothe her, but she just snarled at me and headed back outside. Oh well, I can always try again in a little bit.

It gave me time to fix my computer while she cooled off too. Between me writing, and her gaming, I think we downloaded a virus. I can’t tell her to not game though. She enjoys it so much, and I enjoy it from time to time as well.

Even after her rampage, I still love Katrina with all my heart. Even with her pregnant, there’s still time for romance. At least I try to make some.

Shes carrying my child after all, helping me start my pack! A legacy that will bring werewolves back from the edge. Shes my mate, fated by the moon and the sun and the stars.

“I heard sex can help jump start labor,” She always says, right before bed.

“Who am I to refuse?” I always reply. We always make that time for romance, knowing soon we’re going to have a pup – or two, or three! Though I never tell Katrina that. I’m pretty sure she’ll kill me if she knows I’m hoping for more than one baby.

It’d probably put a quick end to our nighttime romance.

We also had the house remodeled a little. Katrina wants to tear the whole thing down and start again, and I think she might be right. My little shack is going to be outgrown by my family, I’m sure. We need to save up a little more money before we do a big remodel though. I honestly don’t think it’ll be that big, just big enough for our family.

“When we rebuild the house, we need a second computer,” Katrina tells me, and I can’t help but smile. My writing is starting to pick up and we’re actually making some money!

“Of course, love. I know how you like to destress,” Of course, I like to destress in a similar way. No telling if our kids will be like us or not. I always love imaging their little faces, what hobbies they might fine interesting. “A television will probably be nice too.”

“And a library!”

I laughed, because where were we going to fit a library? I stood from the computer to walk into the other room, noting the early hour. I’d have work soon. Then it’d be time to get home and try to write as much as I can.

As I came back, I saw Katrina holding her stomach, her face pinched in pain. I knew instantly it was go time. I couldn’t help but panic a little. Who wouldn’t? We had decided on a home birth, simply since werewolves were extinct to the general public. It’d be best not to tip them off.

Bravely, Katrina made her way to the bassinet I had put together, and began to push. I stayed in the room for moral support, though I knew there was nothing I could do to help her. Hearing every groan of pain made my heart tear a little. Still, Katrina powered through.

It wasn’t too long before she held our son in her arms. She looked up at me, a question in her gaze. Surprisingly, we have never really discussed names. I crept over to her side and looked over her shoulder at him. I nodded to myself, knowing what I wanted to name him.

“Argus. For my grandfather,” I told her.

“That’s perfect. The perfect name for the first werewolf to be born in… well, who knows how long? At least for either of our families.” She leaned down and kissed his little forehead before handing him to me.

I cuddled my son close and vowed to let nothing harm him. Vowed that he’d grow up strong and sure. He’d learn what it meant to be a werewolf, and he’d help spread our pack to the corners of the world. They were going to learn that there was no way to exterminate werewolves. Not for good.

Leave a comment